Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
Rae of sunshine
20 octobre 2011

Autumn fun

The pumpkins have been sitting in the greenhouse for some time now to profit from the warm sunshine to harden the skins and finish the ripening process, with the nights getting colder I keep telling myself that I must get them into the barn so that we don’t loose them and have some for carving so this morning with my little garden helper that is just what did!

DSCF5136b

october42

DSCF5144b

DSCF5147b

DSCF5146b

DSCF5148b

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

DSCF5151b

DSCF5152b

october43

    DSCF5158b   DSCF5159b

DSCF5165b

DSCF5168b

With granddad Norman still in town and the forecast looking good we took a trip to the lake - we were the only ones there and at first the wind was cold and it looked like we were not going to stay long but out came the flask of hot tea for us and hot chocolate for the kids and this soon warmed us up (as I had hoped).  Then out came the sunshine and the wind dropped and soon the kids were stripping off and dipping in the lake.  Names in the sand, climbing and jumping filled the afternoon and as the sky turned grey we headed back to the car with rosy
cheeks and an appetite for dinner.    

Publicité
Publicité
Commentaires
M
I just randomly picked the small varieties. I took them all in yesterday actually and got rid of the bad looking withered plant. It tore my heart to give up on pumpkin growing for this year. I did love observing them roam the place. Looking forward to next year's planting and growinG;
R
Not a bad harvest this year - I would take yours in when a frost is forecast - otherwise leave them out to benefit from the sunshine. I have a couple more that are off the plant and in the greenhouse to ripen as they are still green… Maybe your soil was too dry this year as they do need stacks of water… don't give up, try again next year!
M
You got lots of great ones? I wasn"t as lucky with my seeds. Mine are still on the plant, reckon I should invite them in now?
Publicité
Albums Photos
Rae of sunshine
Derniers commentaires
Publicité