Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
Rae of sunshine
30 octobre 2011

Happy Halloween

A Halloween party to attend - I can make some fancy dress costumes I thought.  I found old fleece dressing
gowns at the second hand store in grey, brown and white - I like fleece as there is no hemming to do!  So I asked
the kids what they wanted to be and Ruby replied a hedgehog and Rivan said a fox so I thought little capes with hoods would be nice and easy…..  I have to admit the time spent making these costumes was far longer than I had anticipated but once I started I just wanted to make them look good and then I got ideas about how to enhance them, one night turned into another and then another but it was a great learning curve, the materials cost 3€ in total and I think they looked pretty good.

DSCF5452b

I decided to be a tree as I had a woolly hat and some reindeer moss, an old pair of green trousers were cut into leaf shapes and stitched on and voila ready to party.  Previously when I have tried to paint the kids faces they have been very adamant that they did not want to partake, today however they were very excited about the prospect.  With the clocks changing last night the kids were up early (according to the new time) so I tried to get them both to have a snooze without much luck.  We used the extra hour to carve our pumpkin, I had initially drawn a ghost scene on the pumpkin but when I came to carve it, it did my head in trying to work out which
pieces to cut and which not to cut to make it work so I gave up on that idea and the kids helped create Mr Fox/ cat - whichever your imagination sees.

october50

DSCF5479b

DSCF5481b

october51

DSCF5477b

DSCF5474b

october52

DSCF5485b
The transformation that we went through whilst painting our faces was great fun, the kids sat still watching the others face change colour and character, then rushing into the bedroom to look at themselves in the mirror.  We then took advantage of the wonderful day and beautiful colours of the trees surrounding us and had a quick photo shoot - a passing car stopped to see us and gave us the thumbs up!

DSCF5487b

DSCF5492b

DSCF5495b

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

DSCF5498b

DSCF5456b
Chocolate cake made and I had attached spiders and pumpkins onto wire to finish the Halloween theme - unfortunately I left these at home so for those of you at the party this is what the cake should have looked like.

DSCF5501b

 october53

       DSCF5508b      DSCF5509b

 DSCF5517b

 october49

The afternoon was glorious and the party was as excellent as ever - well done our party queen!  Art activities and
games for the kids, goodie bags and bubbles and a magical group of people celebrating Halloween - we could ask for no more.  Tired kids stayed awake on the journey home excited to tell Ben all about their afternoon and we lit our pumpkin and gave him pride of place on our dinner table - a lovely, lovely day.

october54

 DSCF5534b

 DSCF5532b

 

DSCF5541b

DSCF5538b

Publicité
Publicité
Commentaires
R
I saw your pictures on facebook of the walk yesterday – wonderful pictures as usual. Our costumes I am sure will be worn again, they both wanted their face painted again yesterday and then ran and asked for their costumes. I really enjoyed making them and am very excited about getting my new sewing machine my mum has got me for my 40th, I just need to look out for a sewing box to keep everything in now as it is all over the place.
M
Costumes were great! I'm sure they'll get to wear it again. Ours have been used three times so far (our town's parade, our party and on Halloween day for a walk in the fields and forest.)<br /> I love the pic of them two squatting and the one with the toilet roll flying. <br /> We even get an idea of the cake deco. Great cake as ever.<br /> Thanks for joining for my favorite party!
Publicité
Albums Photos
Rae of sunshine
Derniers commentaires
Publicité