Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
Rae of sunshine
16 juin 2010

Its my birthday and I'm feeling crap!

Well the anniversary of Rivan has arrived and he is officially 1 today – several questions arise – where has the last year gone?  How did we produce such a handsome young man? What will the next year bring?

The morning started rather early with Rivan waking at 5.45am feeling rather sorry for himself with a temperature and general state of “feeling pants” so I took him downstairs so as not to wake granny, Adrian or Ruby. He fell asleep on my chest and as I gently stroked his soft blond hair I thought that this time a year ago I was doing the same thing for the first time in his life – feeling his soft breath on my chest and him being comforted by the sound of my heart beating and the sound and movement of my chest as I was breathing. It was a moment that bought tears to my eyes and made me feel very lucky to be a mum and to feel such love for someone so small.  It also made me think back to the time that Rivan came into our lives and the very special people that helped me deliver him – the fantastic staff at the hospital – our midwife in particular and my very lovely husband who was there for me all the way and I recalled the moment when Rivan had been safely delivered and I was holding him for the first time, Ben was offered a cup of coffee and I was not allowed until 2 hours after the birth – I don’t think coffee has ever smelt so good.  Being a mum is a very humbling experience and I hope that in years to come if I get frustrated with the kids that I will re-read this and realise that the simple pleasures in life are the best!

rivan

So the day started early and poor Rivan did not really feel that great for the whole day.  As we had left for my mums on Saturday all Rivan’s presents and cards were still at our house – will he ever remember his first birthday I ask myself?  Granny and Granddad had a great present for him – of course it involved cars and this took his mind of feeling out of kilt, opening his present and playing with his cars made him smile, laugh and show off his new skill recently learnt “walking”.

june_201026

june_201027

In the afternoon we took a trip out to the baby troc – second hand baby store and got him a little garage with a helicopter and more cars and also a great wooden workbench for his second birthday – something else for the barn.  The evening saw chocolate muffins which we all enjoyed even if Rivan did not and an early night with lots of cuddles and kisses.  I turned in for bed with a warm feeling in my heart thankful for all the good things in my life, I am a great believer in counting your blessings and I have many blessings to count. “Happy Birthday wee man”. xxx

june_201028

Publicité
Publicité
Commentaires
M
Happy birthday wee man! Long live blessing counting!
Publicité
Albums Photos
Rae of sunshine
Derniers commentaires
Publicité