Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
Rae of sunshine
25 février 2011

Seed catalogues

End of another week and just as last Friday foggy again this morning as we left the house.  After doing the supermarket sweep I headed over to Bernie's to go riding and we had a gentle but fun ride.  The horse I rode (with the twisted back) had a bit of a stumble earlier in the week and as a consequence she was very stiff today and not that keen on going any faster than a walk.  It did not matter as just being out in the countryside was enough to make my day, but next week I have been promised Mr Y who is a different kettle of fish completely - he is a fjord horse, strong, powerful and a beautiful horse so our ride will be a bit faster next week. 

2530335406_f1efe616afb

An example of a fjord horse

Rachel

The job of the afternoon was to get our seeds ordered from the Organic seed catalogue, to be delivered by next week as a friend is driving back from the UK and will be bringing our delights back with her.  It was lovely to be able to scan through the seed catalogue and select some fun varieties for us to grow this year (although I did forget yellow courgette seeds!).

This year I am also going to try "rock dust" on the soil - I remember reading about this in the Permaculture magazine last year and everyone who has used this volcanic rock dust has been blown away by the results - higher yielding crops, more pest resistant plants and tastier fruit and veg so I will keep you posted on the results as we go through the year.

 

The greenhouse is all cleaned out, I just need fix it Ben to help mend the panes of glass that are broken (as we were upstairs yesterday discussing socket points I saw some of the off cuts of insulation and thought that these might be a good solution for fixing the hole.)  I am hoping that this year will be the first year that I will be able to properly utilise the greenhouse as the last 3 years there have been other priorities - two small children!

 

 

Publicité
Publicité
Commentaires
Publicité
Albums Photos
Rae of sunshine
Derniers commentaires
Publicité