Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
Rae of sunshine
1 mars 2011

First seeds of the year

planting_seed_in_trays

It felt good to plant the first seeds of the year today; with the day to myself I arrived back about 11 from the supermarket.   Dinner and lunch made, I head out into the garden with a bag of compost, plastic trays saved from our croissants and a box full of seeds.  Compost mixed with mole hills provides a good foundation for the seeds and helps to keep the mole hills down (to some extent).   Today I got two tubs of salad leaves, 2 tubs of spinach and lots of cherry tomatoes planted.  Recycled bags from the insulation upstairs is then wrapped round the containers to keep the heat in and then they are placed on the shelves in the greenhouse.   Once the seeds germinate we can add watering them and checking them to our list of jobs to do in the morning - the kids will enjoy this.  When I get back inside I remember that I wanted to try planting by the moon this year and today was not a good day to plant the seeds that I did…. ho hum.  Sunday is good for planting peas so this will be a job that the kids can help me with.

Publicité
Publicité
Commentaires
Publicité
Albums Photos
Rae of sunshine
Derniers commentaires
Publicité