Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
Rae of sunshine
1 mai 2011

Will the butterflies now visit?

Everyone a little tired today after the late night yesterday so a relaxed day at home - the last day of the holidays and still we have too much chocolate in the house!  The kids were happily playing in the garden making sand birthday cakes and playing on the trampoline which left me time to attack the small flower bed to make room for some of the new plants I bought when I was down visiting mum.  The flower bed has not really had flowers in for a long time and is slowly getting over run with Lilly of the valley and iris - both plants are pretty for a couple of weeks a year but I want something that performs better and gives both us and the butterflies and bees more to admire.  A huge pile of debris to go onto the bonfire - finally there was a patch that was clear and the kids helped me plan where to put the plants.  I have wanted to get some grasses in the garden for a very long time - these were in my garden back in the UK and although it was a tiny area it was very well stocked with plants.

may

DSCF0808b

DSCF0811b

DSCF0812b

DSCF0818b

All our new babies planted, watered and a welcome song sung to them I took a minute to admire the splendour of the flowers that our palm tree produces every year.  It is one of the few remaining original plants that were in the garden when we bought the house and many people comment on what a great tree it is.  For me the flowers are just spectacular - hidden below the spiky leaves their vibrancy and grandeur can not be ignored.

DSCF0815b

Publicité
Publicité
Commentaires
R
No real smell to the palm flower. Re my iris plants these do not smell and have only produced about 3 flowers despite taking up an area over 2m square so I don't think these would be good for you to plant. You need something that performs well in a small space and these are not the ones! Will keep my eyes peeled for any others that need a good home.
M
I believe I had never seen palm tree flowers. Do they smell good too? By the way if you're overrun by irises and are dividing them I'm interested as I just discovered their fantastic smell and promised myself to have some in the garden next year. I read they have to be planted in the summer.
Publicité
Albums Photos
Rae of sunshine
Derniers commentaires
Publicité