Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
Rae of sunshine
12 juillet 2011

Power fruit

Woke to the sound of thunder this morning and I had my fingers crossed that we would get some rain – to my delight the skies opened and lovely, lovely rain came hard and fast – not for too long but long enough to revitalise the ground for a few days.  Struggling with “woman flu” at the moment I have just about lost my voice, have a temperature and sore throat – of course it is not as bad as the “man flu” that the man of the house had but feeling pretty wretched.  I dropped the kids off at crèche for the day and struggled with myself when I got home – crawl into bed and sleep for a couple of hours or go out in the veg garden and attack the weeds as the ground would be soft and lovely…… what did I decide – well the state of my hands tonight is proof that the garden won!  I thought if I kept busy I would forget how crap I felt.

This afternoon I called the fruit farm to see if there were any strawberries as our plants have new flowers coming but no fruit so I need to get some supplies - they had a few so after feeding the animals and I head off for strawberries before collecting the kids.  It took some time to just fill 3 tubs of strawberries - there were stacks of flowers and fruit but very little that was ripe.  I then hit the raspberries and then onto a fruit that I have never picked before - blueberries.  These are one of the power fruits of the fruit world and I actually had no idea how they grew - I knew that they were on a bush but what it looked like and what size was a mystery.  A friend's hubby had harvested some a week or so ago and was told by he told her that they grew on trees about 6ft high - I think someone is pulling a leg somewhere along the line!  The delicate blue fruit grew on bushes about a 1.5m high (depending on the age of the bush) and the yield per space taken up was amazing.  I soon found that "tickling' each branch was the quickest way to harvest - the ripe berries would simply fall off.  Their colour was beautiful and I am definitely going to get a bush for our garden - must look when the best time to plant it is….  The kids had not tried blueberries before and loved them - they also freeze well too so I might have to go back and get some more for those long winter months.

An early night for me and hope that I feel better tomorrow…

Publicité
Publicité
Commentaires
M
Blueberry muffins, yummy,favorite!<br /> I hope you are all feeling better. SOrry for having probably shared our virus with you. Looking forward to seeing you tomorrow. Happy 14th!
Publicité
Albums Photos
Rae of sunshine
Derniers commentaires
Publicité