Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
Rae of sunshine
26 août 2011

Regaining confidence

The last 'girls' day before schools return - I am going to miss them.  Today I had arranged for Ruby to go riding round at our friends, since her last riding lesson she had become scared around horses and had not asked to go riding again - so I figured that her confidence had been dented.  Jack the little Dartmoor pony would restore her faith in ponies again I was sure - he is a lovely little fella and I remember as kids growing up on Exmoor my brother having a little Dartmoor - you could do anything with him and he was a brilliant first pony.  

DSCF3598b

DSCF3600b

august12

Ruby did not know what she was doing this morning, just that she had to wear trousers and was not swimming.  Unfortunately the weather was not kind to us and as we pulled into the yard, it started raining.  We carried on and got Jack out of his stable - Ruby clinging to me and not wanting to go near the ponies or horses - we brushed, stroked and tacked up our little black friend and then fitted Ruby with a hat - by this time she was ready to get on and go for a ride.  Down the track we went, me thinking that the rain would ease off, but it just got harder and we just got wetter.  Eventually we decided to turn round and go home - wet through but Ruby had a bit smile on her face and asked if we could go again when it is not raining.

 DSCF3608b

DSCF3611b 

Thank you to Bernie and Roger for providing the pony and tack, thank you to Jack for being such a lovely little pony and restoring confidence in Ruby again - it just shows how something so small can make such a difference - I now question whether to return to the riding lessons in September or to try and visit Jack once a week….

thank_you

Publicité
Publicité
Commentaires
R
Dear Exmoor farmer and Leah – yes, yes, and yes, I could not agree with you more. The more I think about her behaviour when we are just ‘hanging’ out with Jack – the more I know that this is the right way forward. Getting comments from you both really made me miss you and remember such happy days when we were younger. I think that I must organise a trip to the UK next year!!!
L
I would agree...Stick to hanging out with Jack. As said above, it is the hands on pre and post ride that is almost more important than the ride itself at the start. xx
E
I would visit Jack once a week and not worry about riding lesson until she is about 6 or 7, all mine started on a 10.2hh dartmoor called Louis, and now my 3yr old neice is riding him, he is just fantastic and the kids can do anything with him and nothing worries him. I think the messing about with the pony is as important as the riding when they are Ruby's age and a good bond with a pony she knows will set her up forever. Becca is now jumping, hacking and doing traditional exmoor things! at the age of 10, and Arch is coming along quietly to at the age of 7. Better not to rush them and they will stick at it.
Publicité
Albums Photos
Rae of sunshine
Derniers commentaires
Publicité