Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
Rae of sunshine
23 janvier 2011

One born every minute

ROX_15b

« One born every minute » on channel 4 for me is compelling watching – I stumbled across the series a couple of weeks ago and was in awe of some of the women giving birth (for those who have not seen it, they have put 40 camera’s into a maternity ward).  Firstly the fact that these women feel brave enough and open enough to be able to and want to share probably the most amazing experience of their life with the nation to me is outstanding.  I don’t think I would have wanted either of my children being born to be filmed let alone broadcast to the nation.  Secondly the calmness and quietness of some of the women giving birth is incredible.

It has covered a multitude of births – induced, water, c section etc and I guess I find it so fascinating to watch because I have never actually seen a child being born – pushed a couple out but never seen it from the other end (so to speak).  It has made me quite reflective on my own deliveries and I question whether I would have changed anything if I were to do it again (which I am not that is for sure).  I had always wanted a water birth but unfortunately living where we do there is not this facility nearby so that was out of the question and a home birth was also out of the question.   With Ruby I had to be induced so the romantic notion I had as a first time mother was somewhat shattered as I went from no contractions to full on contractions.  Rivan’s birth was much happier for me – I knew what to expect and my delivery started naturally, I have many more memories of my second delivery than the first.   Either way the programme just highlighted to me what a wonderful species we are – to be able to give life the way we do – an unspoken connection that lies with all mothers throughout the world.

Publicité
Publicité
Commentaires
L
As you know I am a huge fan of this show too. Some of the woman are crazy though, but make me chuckle. I also know that I would not have wanted camera's filming me for the nation to see, I didn't even want Michael filming Mylo's arrival and that would have just been for us!!! As for memories of labour and birth, it is my belief that a mothers memory is so distorted due to emotions, hormones and (for me at least) being almost within myself. Memory is subjective!
R
The link is http://lifebegins.channel4.com/, we are not able to watch any of the programmes as we are outside the UK but there is some interesting reading there. I will check out your link properly when I have a bit more time, but the images and what I have seen is just so amazing. How lucky are we to be able to know this much about the life growing inside us! Our friends who are about my parent’s age have two sets of twins and they did not know that they were expecting twins back then as there were no such scans or facilities available – the wonders of modern technology!
M
afterthought: I think you might enjoy that: http://www.nilstavernier.com/l-odyssee-de-la-vie,281,fr.html
M
I read a book written by a sage femme called "au monde" (birman)that was fascinating too. Is there a website to catch on that program?
Publicité
Albums Photos
Rae of sunshine
Derniers commentaires
Publicité