Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
Rae of sunshine
2 avril 2011

C'est la fête!

Carnival this afternoon - the theme being the forest and sustainability.  I spent a couple of hours last night making woodland crowns for Ruby, Rivan and myself but sadly the kids ones were too small and they were not interested in wearing them either.  Ruby wanted to be a flamenco ladybird (or rather she wanted to wear her flamenco dress) and Rivan was to be a bright yellow woodland bug or something like that (a costume that I had borrowed from the toy library). My crown fitted so I went along as an attempted mother nature.

DSCF0185b

 DSCF0189b

DSC_0807 

DSC_0806

DSCF0194b

Ruby was delighted to see her friends and ran around spinning and playing as we waited for the carnival floats to appear so we could follow them through the village.  It was hot this afternoon so hats and sun cream were a must - Ruby actually asked for the sun cream to be put on her - 10 out of 10 for sun safety for her.  The floats arrived and passed so we followed them taking in all the costumes, festivities and enjoying the time catching up with friends

DSCF0197b

march9

DSCF0203b

DSCF0212b

DSCF0213b

We had no confetti but a very kind lady asked Ruby if she wanted some - she asked for our bag so she could fill it for us, but as we did not have a bag she just gave Ruby one of her bags of confetti - very kind indeed.  The kids then enjoyed throwing confetti over each other and shouting "c'est la fête" until their bags were empty.  

DSCF0219

DSCF0220b

DSCF0218b

DSCF0222b

DSCF0226b

DSC_0836

DSCF0228b

DSCF0239b

march10

DSCF0245b

DSC_0898 

The carnival scarecrow was then burnt (as is the tradition at every carnival) and then we were entertained by different dance acts - the last one which was staged by some very serious looking teenagers looked like an aerobics class in slow motion - it made me chuckle.  Ruby wanted to go and join them dancing and when I told her she could not she just said "maybe next time".  The kids enjoyed the freedom of running, dancing and jumping on a wooden stage and I was glad that Rivan was in his bright yellow outfit as he was very easy to spot.  It was probably the best carnival I have been to this year as it was not too big and I was not scared of loosing the kids, they enjoyed the freedom and I even enjoyed a beer to cool me down (thank Vanessa)!

DSCF0252b

DSCF0254b

DSCF0258b

 DSC_0967

Publicité
Publicité
Commentaires
M
That was our last carnival of the season. Now there's halloween to look forward to! You might imagine that my childhood was all fancy dresses and parades and after all the north of France and particularly Dunkerque are famous for their carnivals but I don't remember taking part in any and my mom did sew me dresses but never for make believe. I like the ways carnivals unfold here, the fact that there is always a theme related to it, how creative people get, the bonfire that we don't get in the north either, the dances and all. That was pretty neat!
Publicité
Albums Photos
Rae of sunshine
Derniers commentaires
Publicité