Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
Rae of sunshine
13 juin 2011

Our little helper

Bank holiday here today - I only realised this last night and good job too otherwise we would have all gone to take Ruby to school only to find that no one was there.  We started the day by going on a nature walk with a big bag to find things to stick onto our monsters, the walk was lovely - dappled sunshine and lots to stimulate our senses as we meandered down the green paths near the house.  The kids soon got into the project and they were finding all sorts of things to stick onto their monsters - they got quite creative and found twigs, moss, grass, leaves etc and it is amazing how far they will walk when their mind is on something else!

june2

My yoga ball (which I have not used for Yoga for a very long time) but gets used as our computer chair as it handily tucks away under one of the kitchen work tops has been taken out into the garden and sadly now has several punctures - I miss it!  Ben has been trying to fix the punctures for me and has had Ruby to help him pump the ball back up again - at first she tried using her foot on her own, then Ben tried lifting her up and down which she really enjoyed but was not very fruitful so finally he reverted to the good ole fashioned pumping it up with his foot and a bit of pressure.  Sadly the ball has not pulled through but another one is on order!

DSCF1652b

 

    DSCF1655b   DSCF1656b

Preparation for the party is underway - if I can get ahead and do lots of the cooking before hand it will not be such a rush and I can then spend some time with my mum and getting the garden ready.  Today I taught Ruby how to make scones, she enjoyed "tickling" the butter into the flour, cracked the egg and did most of cutting out.  She made me roar with laughter when I said that we needed to brush the scones with milk - she replied ' I will get my comb too for the scones!'.  She helped our neighbour make jam yesterday and scones today so I promised her scones and jam for pudding.

DSCF1662b

 DSCF1665b

   DSCF1669b    DSCF1672b

      DSCF1676b      DSCF1678b

With a little bit of PVA glue we were all happy as Larry this afternoon sticking our treasures onto our monsters - talking about what we had found this morning and where they were going to be stuck - I look forward to having a great big table upstairs in due course and getting sticky and creative.  Fun day rewarded with freshly baked scones and jam - Rivan ate all the jam off and then passed the scone onto his sister.

DSCF1681b

DSCF1679 

DSCF1680b

Publicité
Publicité
Commentaires
R
I will teach her a few more dishes and then send her over – I will make a batch of scones for you next time and you can put them in your freezer and take them out as you want. You will be a happy lady tomorrow as scones and baked cheesecake are both on the menu! Fingers crossed it will not rain – the forecast is a bit mixed but I am sure that even if it does we will manage and it will not dampen the party spirit.
M
If your little helper can nom make scones would we have her over for, let's say, a week, with intense cooking tasks (I'm sure she will remember one or two other tricks learned from her mum) as Scones are my favorite! (along with cheesecake!)<br /> I like the homemade bday theme idea! Let's hope it won't rain!
R
Hey hey Exmoor farmer - so lovely to hear you look at the blog - I lost your email address and have been trying to find you on facebook without success so now I can send you a proper email to catch up - sorry I have been so pants at keeping in touch, you know what it is like and how the days pass. 12 already - oh my god it only seems like a little while ago that he knee height. Hope you have a wonderful time in France - is Captain David flying you all there (only joking); I will be in touch I promise!<br /> <br /> Clotted cream out here - I wish, it is not something that the French stretch to so we have to settle for crème fraiche instead and I put this on first and the jam afterwards - how about you!? Thanks for leaving a comment and hugs to you all!
E
Happy birthday to Riven, enjoy them, they grow so quickly, my eldest boy is 12 on Saturday and off on a school trip for one week, to Dinard & St Malo to experience France!
E
Did you use clotted cream on your scones? If so did you use cream first then Jam ?
Publicité
Albums Photos
Rae of sunshine
Derniers commentaires
Publicité