Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
Rae of sunshine
17 septembre 2011

Nurse!


When at school I decided to take technical drawing and wood work instead of sewing and cooking - I did try both but got really bored with the sewing class as we spent and entire hour just sewing the electric machine without any cotton to see how straight a line we could make - that was enough to turn me off and go and do something else.  Sitting here I wish that this was one of those decisions that I had not made in haste and wished that I had stuck it out and learnt how to sew properly.  I have never really done much sewing - only when I really needed to and always used my hand driven singer sewing machine, an electric one scared me as it goes too fast!  However over the last year or so I have wanted to sew more, to make things for the kids and have an outlet for my small
creative side - I decided that as part of Ruby's birthday present I would make a and hers nurses apron for them to play doctors and nurses.  I had bought a selection of old white tea towels at brocantes this summer and other bits of fabric when I saw them and so made a start. Once I got past the 'oh god where do I start?' I really enjoyed the cutting, pinning and creating of these little aprons.  I thank Ben's mum Liz for sending over the felt - which I came across whilst looking for inspirational fabric to make the nurses crosses - felt is great as not hemming needed - any other scraps you have please send on over!!!

DSCF4124b

DSCF4125b


They did take me quite a long time to make but all in a good cause and a learning curve, it took me a while to work out why I could not get the sewing machine to work - after reading the manual I realised that it was still set on 'reverse' after Ben had finished using it to patch his already patched work trousers!   I am sure I will get faster
the more I do and I am pretty pleased with the results and hope that the kids like them, surprisingly I felt quite a sense of achievement when I had sewn the Velcro on and finally finished.  I think that I might invest in a better sewing machine…..

DSCF4127b

DSCF4128b

Publicité
Publicité
Commentaires
Publicité
Albums Photos
Rae of sunshine
Derniers commentaires
Publicité