Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
Rae of sunshine
26 septembre 2011

One granddad leaves another arrives

What does hemp look like?  Before I knew I thought that it would be green chopped up stalks, so was quite surprised to see that in fact it looked just like finely chopped straw.  As the days pass (too quickly for Ben's liking) Ben is trying to get everything done before the builder arrives to start work, he arrives at the beginning of October to do the fire/ fireplace and then the second week of October he will be here to render the walls.  Ben has been to buy several huge big bags of hemp for the walls - the mix we decided on will include sand, lime, hemp and wood chippings - the finish will be rustic and characterful, in keeping with such an old building 

DSCF4493b

 DSCF4494b

Sadly some of the hemp had gotten wet and started to rot in the bags so with the weather forecast on our side this week we spread as much of it out to dry as possible, especially the top finishing coat.   With Ruby at school Rivan helped with the task in hand and was happy to trundle along beside me with his wheelbarrow and bucket - soon enough the sun was doing its work and with a turn with the rake every hour or so it left us free for the
rest of the day.

DSCF4498b DSCF4500b

DSCF4502b

DSCF4507b

Raspberry bushes were harvested, animals fed and dinner prepared so that when my dad arrived we were all ready to greet him.  Rivan got a little confused when I said that Granddad was coming tonight - he kept telling me that he had just left in the camping car (mum and her husband had just left this morning)  - I guess when you are little understanding the extended family can be a bit confusing.  It has been nearly 18 months since we last saw
dad so I am not sure that Rivan remembered, but Ruby was very glad to see him (as was I) and we enjoyed the late afternoon sun in the garden - a  welcome break for dad who has seen 5 sunny days in Ireland since April…  well if you do live in Ireland what do you expect!  

Publicité
Publicité
Commentaires
R
It did smell really good - sweet and earthy, I hope that it retains some of the smell when it is upstairs. We were looking at dining room tables today - 2m+ long for upstairs, it is all beginning to get very exciting and I can't wait for the Christmas party! Rivan was a great help, although he kept telling me to wait for him. This evening as we had just finished dinner, I popped into the loo and he then came in, he did not see me and it was hilarious watching him walk down the hall saying 'mummy where are you? - His vocab is coming on leaps and bounds everyday - he so makes me laugh!
M
HUm I'm sure it smelled good in the sun! Can't wait to see the final result in December, that's like tomorrow to me already! It's nice to have a picture of Rivan helping with the house project too!
Publicité
Albums Photos
Rae of sunshine
Derniers commentaires
Publicité