Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
Rae of sunshine
5 octobre 2011

Their job is to deliver right!!!???

Errands to run today for the house project – to collect a register plate for the fire and then go and collect some paint that was delivered from Wickes to a company that ship items over here to a nearby collection point.  Kids were in good form and we set of to get the register plate, on arrival we were told that the chap had forgotten to make it so could we return in an hour - so we had an hour to kill.  We took a trip to the library, somewhere we have not been for some time but both kids excited about choosing new books and music for the car.  The last time we went Rivan was not that into looking at the books but more interested in jumping off the chairs and using the furniture as a climbing frame, today however the change was pretty dramatic.  His love of books grows every day and each night when we read a bed time story he enjoys helping Ruby select a book and then us all snuggling up in our bed for a couple of stories.  The current favourite was given to Ruby by her Auntie Jane - 'Rubbaduck and Ruby Roo' is a great story all about a rag doll called Ruby Roo and a duck and how they make their fortune.  We have read this one for the past 7 or 8 nights and still they do not grow bored of it - I suspect that this is because as they know the story so well they then fill in the missing words when I ask them.  

Anyway I digress, at the library Rivan goes straight to the books and gently looks through them until he finds one with farm animals and tractors - sits down to look at it and then tells me 'home' - he wants to take this one home.  Ruby is fast to select her books and I am keen to let them choose the books they want, for Ruby her books include one all about the fire brigade as this is something that they have been doing in school.  So with books chosen we check out and then head off to the playground for a quick climb before returning to collect the register plate, it is finished and waiting by the door.  When I ask the price the man says that I am to give what I want…..  I tell him I have no idea how much he would like and he tells me €10, to me this seems like a bargain price, I check with Ben when I get home that I have understood him properly
just to make sure I have not offended anyone by giving too little.

Rubbaduck and Ruby Roo

This afternoon we had to wait on a phone call for our paint delivery, we were initially told about 1pm so I did not put Rivan down to sleep, by 2.30 I finally call the company and find out that they will not be at our drop off point until about 4pm so arrange to meet them at an earlier drop off point - a longer drive for me but it would mean that we could salvage some of the afternoon.  To cut a long story short, we spent most of the afternoon driving round France, unable to find wagon with our paint, we ended up going to the original delivery point and finally got the paint in the back of the car - nearly 2 hours later.  We did manage to get back to Chillac lake and meet our friends there for a quick paddle and catch up before returning home.

Just before I went to bed I thought I would open one of the boxes to check that we had got the right paint and my heart sank as I put my hand in the box to pull the tub out and found I had paint all over it - the tub had been
leaking and not stored properly during shipping - not best pleased.  I decided to check the others in the morning,
but Ben checked them before he went to bed and one of the other tubs had a great bit crack and had leaked all over the box - arse!!!  I will have to contact the delivery company and see what they have to say - it is really disappointing when you order something in good faith and expect it to be shipped safely to find such results…..  We have at least one tub of paint that is not usable - I wonder will the delivery company cover the cost of replacement??

DSCF4703b

DSCF4705b

Publicité
Publicité
Commentaires
Publicité
Albums Photos
Rae of sunshine
Derniers commentaires
Publicité