Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
Rae of sunshine
2 juin 2010

Long live Bagpuss

Childhood cartoons bring back many memories – the simple opening title music can take me back to when I was a small child and one of my favourite was Bagpuss.  I loved that floppy pink cat that came to life when Emily brings all sorts of things that she has found for him to mend.  The mice singing “we will fix it, we will fix it, we will stick it with glue glue glue” and of course not forgetting Professor Yaffle.  Thanks to the modern wonders of technology (you tube) I have had the pleasure of watching Bagpuss all over again and sharing him with Ruby and Rivan.  I did wonder if it would seem outdated and old fashioned compared to all the computer generated cartoons which are on TV today but she was captivated by it and asked for more.  We spent several minutes formulating his name – Ruby getting the puss and bag round the wrong way but I thoroughly enjoyed taking a trip down memory lane with her. 

bagpuss

What children’s programmes captivated you?  Others which I loved were;

  • Magic roundabout
  • Paddington bear (another of Ruby’s favourites)
  • Button moon
  • Rupert bear
  • Andy Pandy – not the original – far too young for this!


Woke this morning and Ruby wanted to read her “baby” a book – one of the touchy feely books that I read Rivan before he goes to sleep.  She wanted to make sure that her baby found where all the fluffy bits were in the book “that’s not my puppy”.  Rivan wanted to get in and show her but thought it was better to keep him out and let the two girls have a bit of quiet time.

june_2010

All is happy in land of Goumas, the warm weather seems to have departed this morning as we put on our jumpers and coats to go out and feed the chickens and generally check all the plants growing in the garden and check on the new cheeky piglets.  We took the bubbles out with us this morning and Ruby tried to explain to her brother how to blow through the little hole to produce bubbles – he was more interested in putting it in his mouth and pulling a funny face.  Rivan is now standing and you can see him looking at things and working out “now how do I get this leg to move and then the other one to get over there?”  He is changing lots at the moment and his word of the day is “cat” – I am cat, dad is cat, Ruby is cat – you get the idea!  He loves helping feed the chickens now and is getting quite good at climbing up the chicken cage as Ruby eats the chicken food – I do feed them honestly.

june_20101

june_20102

june_20103

The baby piglets are growing fast and are very cute, Matron is a very good mum and seems to always be lying down letting them drink.  Matron makes this motherly grunting noise as the babies pummel per nipples to get the milk to come down and this morning Ruby kept telling her to sshhh – as the piglets were drinking.  I think that she has picked that up from when our friends are breastfeeding we ask her to be calm and quiet during this time.

june_20104

june_20105


How to use the blog

You are able to make comments on my blog – give feedback, answers to my questions so all those of you who would like to comment all you have to do is click on “commentaries” which is shown at the bottom of each entry.  You just need to fill in your name and email address (nothing else) and type you comments and then click on “envoyer” – couldn’t be easier.

Publicité
Publicité
Commentaires
M
I will need to check bagpuss and button moon sounds quite poetic. I remember loving the Fraggle Rock, Heidi, Nils Holgerson, le village dans les nuages, bouba, candy etc... My mum often watched them with me.<br /> The kids love the little mole which is a 70s cartoon, pocoyo, peppa pig, roary, petit ours brun etc...<br /> Le flambeau est passé, Ruby lit à sa poupée :D It's a passion I do hope mine will keep sharing.<br /> Rivan is indeed changing a lot lately!<br /> I haven't visited your piglets yet, put that on our list!<br /> And long live happy days in goumas!
Publicité
Albums Photos
Rae of sunshine
Derniers commentaires
Publicité